top of page

PeopleCert ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT Certification Course Including Official Exam



The ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT (HVIT) qualification is intended to provide the candidate with an understanding of the ways in which digital organizations and digital operating models function in high velocity environments, focusing on rapid delivery of products & services to obtain maximum value. The qualification will provide the candidate with an understanding of working practices such as Agile and Lean, and technical practices and technologies such as ‘the cloud’, automation, and automatic testing.


The ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT examination is intended to assess whether the candidate can demonstrate sufficient understanding and application of ITIL 4 to High-Velocity IT, as described in the syllabus, to be awarded the ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT qualification. The ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT qualification is one of the pre-requisites for the designation of ITIL® 4 Managing Professional which assesses the candidate’s practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful, modern IT-enabled services, teams and workflows.


Course Overview

The ITIL 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT module equips you with practical skills to adapt service management practices to the modern organization’s dynamic, high-velocity environment. You’ll build resilient systems and improve service quality and speed.


Course Schedule

Duration: 2 days (training)

Exam: ITIL 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT certificate

Topics Covered:

  • Digital Transformation Strategies: Explore different strategies and approaches for transforming traditional IT operations into a more digitally-focused and agile environment.
  • Agile and DevOps Principles: Understand how Agile and DevOps practices can accelerate service delivery, improve collaboration, and enhance efficiency in IT service management.
  • Lean and Continuous Improvement: Apply lean principles to eliminate waste and streamline processes within IT operations. Learn about continuous improvement to drive ongoing enhancements.
  • Automation: Gain insights into the role of automation, AI, and ML in modern IT operations, leveraging these technologies for efficiency and innovation.
  • Digital Product Management: Understand concepts related to digital product management, designing, developing, and managing digital products and services that deliver value.
  • Service Resilience: Learn strategies to ensure the resilience and security of digital services in a high-velocity environment, addressing security threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Service Performance Metrics: Explore measurement and reporting of key performance indicators (KPIs) to assess digital service effectiveness.
  • Customer-Centric Approaches: Embrace a customer-centric mindset, aligning services with customer expectations to create positive experiences.
  • Culture: Recognize the significance of fostering a culture of innovation, collaboration, and agility during the transition to high-velocity IT.


Target Audience

This course is suitable for IT professionals at any career stage who want to excel in essential IT service management tasks.


Course Prerequisites

The candidate must have passed the ITIL® 4 Foundation examination.


Test Certification

Upon passing the ITIL 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT exam, you’ll receive the official certification.


Exam Overview

Material allowed: None. This is a ‘closed book’ exam. The ITIL® 4: High-Velocity IT Official Book and the relevant ITIL Practices Guides should be used for study but is NOT permitted to be used in the exam.

Exam duration: 90 minutes. Candidates taking the exam in a language that is not their native or working language may be awarded 25% extra time, i.e. 113 minutes in total.

Number of marks: 40 marks. There are 40 questions, each worth 1 mark. There is no negative marking.

Pass mark: 28 marks. You need to answer 28 questions (70%) correctly to pass the exam.

Level of thinking: Bloom’s levels 2 & 3. ‘Bloom’s level’ describes the type of thinking needed to answer the question. For Bloom’s 2 questions, you need to show understanding of the concepts, methods and principles of HVIT. For Bloom’s 3 questions, you need to demonstrate application of these concepts, methods and principles of HVIT, as well as information from the related practices.

Question types: Standard, Missing word, Negative, & List. The questions are all ‘multiple choice’.

For the ‘standard’ questions, you have a question and four answer options.

‘Negative’ questions are ‘standard’ questions in which the stem is negatively worded.

For the ‘missing word’ questions, there is a sentence with a word missing and you have to select the missing word from four options.

For the ‘list’ questions, there is a list of four statements and you have to select two correct statements from the list.


Package Includes:

  • PeopleCert Official Training Materials (OTM)
  • ITIL 4: High-velocity IT eBook
  • Sample exam papers and rationales
  • Official PeopleCert ITIL® 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT Exam Voucher (valid for 12 months)

ITIL 4 Specialist: High-Velocity IT Including Official Exam

    bottom of page