top of page

PeopleCert ITIL® 4 Foundation Certification Course including Official Exam



The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is intended to introduce candidates to the management of modern IT-enabled services, to provide them with an understanding of the common language and key concepts, and to show them how they can improve their work and the work of their organization with ITIL 4 guidance. Furthermore, the qualification will provide the candidate with an understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework and how it has evolved to adopt modern technologies and ways of working.


The ITIL 4 Foundation examination is intended to assess whether the candidate can demonstrate sufficient recall and understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework, as described in the syllabus, to be awarded the ITIL 4 Foundation qualification. The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is a prerequisite for the ITIL 4 higher level qualifications, which assess the candidate’s ability to apply their understanding of the relevant parts of the ITIL framework in context.


Course Overview

The ITIL 4 Foundation certification introduces you to key service management concepts and practices. It ensures a holistic approach to value co-creation and service delivery. Begin your ITIL journey today, and consider progressing to the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) or Strategic Leader (SL) certification streams for advanced knowledge.


Course Schedule

  • Duration: 2 days (training)
  • Exam: ITIL 4 Foundation certificate
  • Topics covered: Service management concepts, Guiding Principles, Service Value Chain, four dimensions of Service Management, continual improvement, and practice overview.


Target Audience

  • IT professionals
  • Digital teams
  • Project managers
  • Business analysts
  • Professionals seeking to improve service management practices


Course Objectives

  • Understand service management principles.
  • Apply ITIL 4 Guiding Principles.
  • Explore the Service Value Chain.
  • Consider the four dimensions of Service Management.
  • Embrace continual improvement practices.


Course Prerequisites

No specific prerequisites; suitable for beginners.


Test Certification

Upon passing the ITIL 4 Foundation exam, you’ll receive the official certification.


Exam Overview:

Material allowed: None. This is a ‘closed book’ exam. The ITIL Foundation Official Book, ITIL 4 edition, should be used for study, but is NOT permitted to be used in the exam.

Exam duration: 60 minutes. Candidates taking the exam in a language that is not their native or working language may be awarded 25% extra time, i.e. 75 minutes in total.

Number of marks: 40 marks. There are 40 questions, each worth 1 mark. There is no negative marking.

Pass mark: 26 marks. You will need to get 26 questions correct (65%) to pass the exam.

Level of thinking: Bloom’s levels 1 & 2 “Bloom’s level” describes the type of thinking needed to answer the question. For Bloom’s level 1 questions, you need to recall information about the ITIL 4 service management framework. For Bloom’s 2 questions, you need to show understanding of these concepts.

Question types: Classic, Negative, Missing word, & List. The questions are all ‘multiple choice’.

For the ‘standard’ questions, you have a question and four answer options.

‘Negative’ questions are ‘standard’ question in which the stem is negatively worded.

For the ‘missing word’ questions, there is a sentence with a word missing and you have to select the missing word from four options.

For the ‘list’ questions, there is a list of four statements and you have to select two correct statements from the list.


Package Includes:

  • PeopleCert Official Training Materials (OTM)
  • ITIL Foundation: ITIL 4 Edition eBook
  • Sample exam papers and rationales
  • Official PeopleCert ITIL Foundation: ITIL 4 Edition Exam Voucher (valid for 12 months)


ITIL 4 Foundation Including Official Exam

    bottom of page