top of page

PeopleCert Scrum Master I Course with Official Exam

PeopleCert SCRUM Master I (14-16 training hours) – Candidates get the essential knowledge needed by IT professionals in Agile methodologies and Scrum practices. It focuses on the fundamental principles and concepts of both Agile and Scrum.

The PeopleCert SCRUM Master I certification covers the fundamental knowledge required for a candidate to build their knowledge and skills regarding Scrum principles and practices. In addition, the PeopleCert SCRUM Master II certification (which is the next level of the qualification) covers more advanced skills, practices and knowledge about the Scrum framework.

The body of knowledge underlying these skills are presented in the official courseware provided by PeopleCert to accredited ATOs. The primary purpose of the syllabus is to provide a basis for accreditation of people involved with the Scrum framework. It documents the learning outcomes related to the qualification and describes the requirements a candidate is expected to meet to demonstrate that these learning outcomes have been achieved at the specific qualification level.


Purpose of the SCRUM Master I Qualification

The purpose of this qualification level is to confirm that a candidate has sufficient knowledge, understanding and application of the Scrum framework and be able to work effectively with, or as a member of, a Scrum Team.

Target Group/Audience

This certification is the first level of the PeopleCert SCRUM qualification scheme provided by PeopleCert and is aimed at anyone who wishes to become an efficient member of a Scrum environment and requires candidates to have and demonstrate a solid knowledge and understanding of the Scrum terms, principles, tools and practices, as well as demonstrate their application skills of how to use tools efficiently and effectively. The certification can also cater for candidates seeking personal certification.

This certification will provide all the required level of knowledge to its holders and will certify that they have a solid understanding of Scrum using various tools. An advanced level of skills and knowledge is covered in PeopleCert SCRUM Master II which is the next level of the PeopleCert SCRUM qualification scheme provided by PeopleCert.


Learning Objectives

At this qualification level, candidates will be introduced to basic concepts, terms, principles and tools used for Scrum as well as why Scrum is needed in modern enterprises, the Scrum methodology, people and culture implications as well as the practices, processes, and technology used for adapting Scrum within an organization.

Holders of the PeopleCert SCRUM Master I certification, will be able to demonstrate their knowledge, understanding and practical application of:

  • The definition and purpose of Agile

  • The three pillars of Scrum: inspection, adaptation, and transparency

  • The five Scrum values: commitment, focus, openness, respect, and courage

  • The characteristics of an effective Scrum Master, Product Owner, and developer

  • The purposes of different Artifacts and Events in Scrum

Qualification Scheme Level


Through the above learning objectives, candidates will demonstrate relevant knowledge skills in the following areas: 

  • Introduction to Agile Project Management

  • An Introduction to Scrum

  • The Scrum Team

  • Scrum Artifacts

  • Scrum Events

  • Releasing the Increment


The PeopleCert SCRUM Master I Certification Exam is designed to validate a candidate’s knowledge and understanding of Scrum basics as detailed above as well as how to be able to apply this knowledge through tools and practices in a modern enterprise.

The PeopleCert SCRUM Master I exam focuses on the following two (2) categories in the cognitive domain of Bloom’s taxonomy which is a reference for different levels of learning:

  • Knowledge

  • Comprehension



Assessment Approach

The assessment approach used for the PeopleCert SCRUM Master I certification focuses on the two basic categories of Knowledge and Comprehension.

Knowledge is defined as recalling previously learned material, from facts to theories and represents the lowest level of learning outcomes in the cognitive domain. Such learning outcomes are turned in assessment objectives that include knowing and recalling such as:

  • Common and/or basic terms, definitions, concepts and principles

  • Specific processes

  • Processes, procedures and project management methods


Comprehension is the lowest level of understanding and entails the ability to grasp the meaning of the material taught, including some elements of interpretation, translation or estimation during the process. Such learning outcomes and in turn assessment objectives go beyond simply recalling information and may include:

  • Understanding facts, concepts and principles

  • Interpreting material (i.e. code, charts, graphs, text, diagrams)

  • Justifying a process, procedure and method used


The assessment incorporates the above learning outcomes as it uses assessment objectives that cater for the above cognitive domain categories.

Entry Criteria/Training Requirements

For this examination, there are no formal entry criteria or training requirements.
In order to be eligible for the PeopleCert Scrum Master I level examination a candidate must be able to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of basic Scrum terms, principles, processes, practices and tools and it is recommended that the candidate has received Accredited Training by a PeopleCert accredited training partner.


Course Materials

Our package includes:

  • PeopleCert Official Training Materials (OTM)

  • Sample exam paper and rationale

  • Official PeopleCert Scrum Master I Exam Voucher (valid for 12 months)



PeopleCert SCRUM Master I Exam Overview

Material allowed: None (This is a 'closed book' exam.)
Exam duration: 60 minutes (1 hour)
Question types: 40 Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ)
Number of marks: 40 marks
Pass mark: 28 out of 40 marks (70% or above)
Level of thinking: Bloom’s levels 1 & 2

“Bloom’s level” describes the type of thinking needed to answer the question.
For Bloom’s level 1 questions, you need to recall information about the SCRUM method.
For Bloom’s Level 2 questions, you need to show understanding of these concepts.

PeopleCert Scrum Master I Course with Official Exam

    bottom of page